Click on the magnifying glass to see the zoom 
Reference : 4.0

4.1. Eligible species
All species of gamefish will be considered by the ESRA Board provided they are at least 0,900kg and are not on the list of ESRA Ineligible Species. The Board retains the right to reject species considered unworthy of recognition.

4.2. Ineligible species
Consistent with the mission of the ESRA "to promote ethical, safe, and sportsmanlike spearfishing practices, to encourage and support a sense of environmental responsibility among divers," the ESRA Board continuously and independently reviews species on the ineligible list.
The eligibility of a species is based on meeting one of more of the following criteria:
1. It is considered endangered by recognized communities
2. Its biology predisposes it to overfishing (such as sharks, among others)
3. It is not usually harvested for consumption
4. It is in serious decline and causes significant ecological impact, well-documented in scientific literature

The following species meet one or more of the above criteria and are ineligible for world record status:

Sunfish (Mola mola)
Tarpon (Megalops atlanticus)
Congre (Conger conger)
Moray (Muraenidae)
Any species of sharks or rays are not eligible